i need some expert advice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• i need some expert advice

Hey guys I have a 270 Weatherby Magnum and I want to mule deer hunt at long ranges . I am going to get another rifle and cant decide on the .308 or 300 Win Mag. I will be shooting 500-1000 yards. There is no way of getting any closer. That's why I come here to ask you guys. I also want to target shoot at long ranges. I am a rookie , but everyones got to start somewhere right. So what caliber, make , bullet , and optics ? thanks for helping.

[quote]
    Hey guys I have a 270 Weatherby Magnum and I want to mule deer hunt at long ranges . I am going to get another rifle and cant decide on the .308 or 300 Win Mag. I will be shooting 500-1000 yards. There is no way of getting any closer. That's why I come here to ask you guys. I also want to target shoot at long ranges. I am a rookie , but everyones got to start somewhere right. So what caliber, make , bullet , and optics ? thanks for helping.[/b]
    In that you did not state a financial condition for your endeavor you get my personal first choice. For your application a 300WM, Remington 700 is still king in my opinion. Top it off with a Nightforce scope of your informed choice. That said, the .308 will not wear out the throat as quickly - and the cost of the rounds is much less also. Another consideration is that the 300WM usually thumps a little harder; if that is an issue at all in your decision. If you reload your rounds the higher cost per round of the 300WM is somewhat abated. If you intend to get your mule deer you will need to practice. I would certainly factor that in. O.k., that is just my opinion - my guess is that you are about to get many others.

Nam et ipsa scientia potestas est. - "Knowledge is power." - Francis Bacon
    σημεια δὲ τοις πιστεύσασι ταυτα παρακολουθήσει· εν τω ονόματί μου δαιμόνια - "And these signs will follow those who believe: In My name they will cast out demons." - Mark 16:17